Theological Ethics of Animals Used in Entertainment

In the Spring of 2014, I took what has since then been my favorite class I have taken at Truett:

Theological Ethics of Sports.

I was a second semester student full of passion towards veganism and what that practically looked like in the church. You may be asking yourself, “What does veganism have to do with a class over sports?” See, the world’s greatest professor taught this class (I admit my bias, especially since I’m his Graduate Assistant now), and let people who did not have a concentration in Sports Ministry to write on whatever they desired as long as it dealt with ethics. And so, my journey to proving veganism as the correct way of living began (I’m totally just kidding, and if you know me you know that I don’t preach veganism. I’m trying to fit a stereotype, okay?!).

My paper, Theological Ethics of Animals used in Entertainment, was the beginning of my love for practical theology and essentially led me to want to focus on Spiritual Formation – as I believe my vegan lifestyle helps form me spiritually.

I will be posting portions every week of this paper onto this here blog, and would love comments and engagement from those in the body of Christ to critique and help me grow in understanding.

Thanks in advance for reading.

Here are the links (to be updated as I post them):
Ethical Issues
Character Dimensions
Norms (A longer read)
Praxis

And the Bibliography:

Bekoff, Marc. “Increasing Our Compassion Footprint: The Animal’s Manifesto.” Zygon 43, no. 4 (December 2008): 771-81.

Bernstein, Mark. Review of Why Animal Suffering Matters, by Andrew Linzey, TheExpository Times 122, no. 228 (2009): 206, http://ext.sagepub.com/content/122/5/228.citation.

Bilefsky, Dan. “Danish Zoo, Reviled in the Death of a Giraffe, Kills 4 Lions,” New York Times, March 26, 2014, http://www.nytimes.com/2014/03/27/world/europe/lion-killing-at-danish-zoo-provokes-fresh-outrage.html?_r=0.

Bostock, Stephen St C. Zoos and Animal Rights. New York: Routledge, 1993.

Broadman Bible Commentary, The; “General Articles, Genesis-Exodus.” Broadman Press, 1973.

Brueggemann, Walter. Interpretation, “Genesis.” John Knox: Atlanta, 1982.

Camosy, Charles. For Love of Animals. Cincinnati: Franciscan Media, 2013. Amazon. Kindle edition.

Editorial. “Free the Elephants and Orcas in Captivity.” Scientific American, March 1, 2014. http://www.scientificamerican.com/article/free-elephants-orcas-captivity/.

Gluck, John P., Tony DiPasquale, and F. Barbara Orlans. Applied Ethics in Animal Research. West Lafayette: Purdue University, 2002.

Kotva, Joseph J. On Moral Medicine. 3rd ed. Grand Rapids: William B. Eerdmans, 2012.

Miller, Daniel K. Animal Ethics and Theology. New York: Routledge, 2012.

Regan, Tom. All That Dwell Therein. 2 vols. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1982.

Regan, Tom, and Peter Singer. Animal Rights and Human Obligations. Englewood Cliffs: Prentice-Hall, 1976.

Scully, Matthew. Dominion. New York: St. Martin’s Griffin, 2002. Amazon Kindle Edition.

Stassen, Glen H., and David P. Gushee. Kingdom Ethics. Downers Grove: Intervarsity Press, 2003.

Wenham, Gordon J., Word Biblical Commentary, “Genesis 1-21.” Word Inc, 1987.

 

Leave a comment